Nine players from Arena’s US January camp to attend Desert Diamond Cup

New national team manager Bruce Arena named his 32 man roster for the upcoming January camp which takes place on the 10th of January at the StubHub Center in Carson, California.  The squad is made up of domestic players only and does not include players currently playing overseas.

Arizona residents attending this year’s Desert Diamond Cup will be fortunate enough to see no fewer than nine of these players in action when the event takes place in Tucson between February the 19th and 25th.

The players attending are;

Goalkeepers: David Bingham (San Jose Earthquakes), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake), Luis Robles (New York Red Bulls).

Defenders: Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City).

Midfielders: Benny Feilhaber (Sporting Kansas City) Sacha Kljestan (New York Red Bulls), Dax McCarty (New York Red Bulls)

Forwards: Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes).

The full squad is as follows;

GOALKEEPERS (5): David Bingham (San Jose Earthquakes), Stefan Frei (Seattle Sounders FC), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake), Luis Robles (New York Red Bulls)

DEFENDERS (10): DaMarcus Beasley (Unattached), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Greg Garza (Atlanta United FC), Matt Hedges (FC Dallas), Taylor Kemp (D.C. United), Chad Marshall (Seattle Sounders FC), Keegan Rosenberry (Philadelphia Union), Walker Zimmerman (FC Dallas), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

MIDFIELDERS (12): Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Benny Feilhaber (Sporting Kansas City), Jermaine Jones (Unattached), Sacha Kljestan (New York Red Bulls), Sebastian Lletget (LA Galaxy), Kekuta Manneh (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Dax McCarty (New York Red Bulls), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Chris Pontius (Philadelphia Union), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC)

FORWARDS (5): Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)

Desert Diamond Cup Details

This is the sixth Desert Diamond Cup, formally known as the Desert Cup and promises to be another classic. Previous winners are;

2011 – Sporting Kansas City
2012 – LA Galaxy
2013 – Seattle Sounders
2014 – Chicago Fire
2015 – Real Salt Lake
2016 – New England Revolution

Teams this year: New York City FC, New York Red Bulls, Colorado Rapids, Sporting Kansas City, New England Revolution and Houston Dynamo.

Saturday, Feb. 18th – TICKETS

  • New England Revolution vs. Colorado Rapids, 1:00 p.m.
  • New York Red Bulls vs. Sporting Kansas City, 3:30 p.m.
  • New York City Football Club vs. Houston Dynamo, 6:00 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 25th – TICKETS

  • 5th place team vs. 6th place team, 1:00 p.m.
  • 3rd place team vs. 4th place team, 3:30 p.m.
  • 1st place team vs. 2nd place team, 6:00 p.m
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *